416 Old Main, University of Arkansas

Fayetteville, AR 72701

479-575-5884 | 479-575-2775 FAX


2017 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners | Nomination Forms

Awards for 2017 Annual Conference, Pocahontas

Click on each winner’s name to view their picture.  

J. G. Ragsdale Book Award

Kenneth C. Barnes – for best book-length study in Arkansas history Anti-Catholicism in Arkansas:  How Politicians, the Press, the Klan, and Religious Leaders Imagined an Enemy, 1910-1960

University of Arkansas Press – publisher – David Scott Cunningham accepting for UofA Press

James H. Atkinson Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Arkansas History

Lisa Lacefield – of Valley View Junior High, Jonesboro

Lucille Westbrook Award

Kenneth C. Barnes – for his outstanding contribution to local Arkansas history in his essay “Another Look Behind the Masks:  The Ku Klux Klan in Bentonville, Arkansas, 1922-1926”

Violet B. Gingles Award

Ryan Anthony Smith – for his outstanding contribution to Arkansas history in his essay
“The Reformer:  Laura Conner and the Limits of Women’s Prison Reform in 1920s Arkansas”

NEARA Award  – (NorthEast Arkansas Regional Archives in Powhatan)

Randy L. Tipton – for his outstanding contribution to Arkansas history in his essay “Beyond Begats:  Enslaved Lydia Opens Windows on the Kin and Connections of Pioneering Patriarch Andrew Ramsey”

Meredith McFadden presenting

Susannah DeBlack Award – co-winners

William B. Jones – for best book in Arkansas history for young readers Petit Jean:  A Wilderness Adventure  
additional picture

Ali Welky, Editor – for best book in Arkansas history for young readers A Captive Audience:  Voices of Japanese American Youth in World War II Arkansas  (Bob Razer accepting for Ali Welky)

Tom and Susannah DeBlack presenting 

Tom Dillard Advocacy Award

Carole Linebarger Harter – for sustained and public support of the study, teaching, and preservation of Arkansas history

Tom Dillard presenting 

James L. Foster & Billy W. Beason Award

Daniel Klotz – for his outstanding contribution to Arkansas history with her dissertation “State Power and School Reform in Faulkner County, 1873-1931” (MA thesis, University of Central Arkansas)



Walter L. Brown Award for the Best County or Local Journal

Pulaski County Historical Review  Bob Razer receiving

Honorable Mention for next best county of local historical publication

Grand Prairie Historical Bulletin  Glenn Mosenthin receiving

Best Use of Graphics in a journal

Grand Prairie Historical Bulletin  Glenn Mosenthin receiving

Best Article in a County or Local Journal

Guy Lancaster, “Before John Carter:  Lynching & Mob Violence in Pulaski County, 1882-1906,” in Pulaski County Historical Review  
(Bob Razer accepting for Guy Lancaster)

Best Biography, Autobiography, or Memoir

Sue Robison, “Mary E. O’Toole Parker:  The Judge’s Wife,” in The Journal

Best Family History

Marlo Krueger, “Storch-Maertens Family History and Congo Stores:  Part I,” in The Saline

Best Church History

S. Ray Granade, “Gurdon, Baptists, and Railroads,” in Clark County Historical Journal
(Charlotte Jeffers accepting for S. Ray Granade)

Best Community History

Gerald W. Williams (no picture), “Central & Antioch Stores,” in The Heritage

Best School History

Robert D. Craig, “Caring for Jackson Countians with Cognitive and Related Disabilities,” in The Stream of History

Best Business History

H. Glenn Mosenthin, “Cotton Belt Railway’s Southwestern Transportation Company,” in Grand Prairie Historical Bulletin

Best Edited Document

Elizabeth Robbins (no picture), “Remembering the Hot Springs Orphan’s Home,” in The Record

Best Newsletter

The Butler Banner, Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, Brian Robertson receiving on behalf of the Butler Center